Dr. Ashish Gupta, Assistant Professor, Department of Life Sciences awarded the INSA Medal for Young Scientist (2015)

From Left: Prof. R Gadagkar, President, INSA, & JC Bose National Fellow, Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Bengaluru, and Dr. Ashish Gupta, Assistant Professor, Department of Life Sciences, School of Natural Sciences, Shiv Nadar University (INSA Medal for Young Scientist Awardee-2015), Dec 2015

Dr. Ashish Gupta, Assistant Professor, Department of Life Sciences has been awarded the INSA Medal for Young Scientist (2015) by the Indian National Science Academy (INSA). INSA, a premier science academy was established in January 1935 with the object of promoting science in India and harnessing scientific knowledge for the cause of humanity and national welfare. The academy in 1974 instituted the Medal for Young Scientists (who has not attained the age of 35) with the aim of distinguishing young scientists of extraordinary promise and creativity who have made notable research contributions in the field of Science and Technology. Dr. Gupta has been awarded the Medal in the field of microbiology & immunology in recognition of his work on dissecting the mechanism of DNA replication in deadly human malaria parasite Plasmodium falciparum and characterizing novel molecular targets that can be exploited for anti-malarial therapy.

This award is highly competitive and is considered to be the highest recognition of young scientist, made annually. Till 2015, 737 young scientists has been recognized for this award and many of them have established a rewarding scientific career and continue to make outstanding contributions winning further honors both in this country and abroad.

Awardees receive a Medal, a certificate and cash prize of Rs. 25,000/-. The awardee are also considered for research grant and a visit abroad with full support for presenting research work at conferences, and/or participating in collaborative/training research projects.

Dr. Gupta had previously been awarded the prestigious ‘Innovative Young Biotechnologist Award (IYBA)-2014’ by the Department of Biotechnology (DBT), Gov. of India, ‘Prof. M.B. Mirza Award-2014’ by Indian Society for Parasitology and US Army postdoctoral fellowship award-2011, Department of Defense, Government of USA for his research work.